March 17, 2008

Weekly Reflection 2

Posted in Education at 10:26 am by iris0202

This week we have learned COGNITIVE and META-COGNITIVE SKILLS.

We have already learned something about cognitive and meta-cognitive skills in Teaching Strategies course last semester. But I almost forgot the two definitions. It’s my fault…

It’s a good chance for me to review the former knowledge.

Cognitive Skills are any mental skills that are used in the process of acquiring knowledge; these skills include reasoning, perception, and intuition.

Cognitive Skills involve:

  • Life Skills
  • Basic Skills
  • Work Skills

Meta-cognitive Skills are essential skills for learning. It makes the learner to be able to think about their own thought process, identify the learning strategies that work best for them and consciously manage how they learn.

Meta-cognitive Skills involve:

  • Attention, Memory
  • Concentration, Association
  • Sequential Logic

I want to be a teacher after I graduate. I think Cognitive and Meta-cognitive Skills can be used in my daily life and teaching process. So my teaching result will be promoted. So my students can also benefit from these skills.

Leave a comment